

Council 29 September 2005	Item No.
Report of the Chief Executive	
Report of the Office Executive	PROPORTIONALITY AND OTHER
Directorate:	MATTERS
Author/Contact Officer:	
Francis Fernandes	

Purpose of Report

To invite Council to review the representation and determine the allocation of seats on the Councils Committees and to approve the meetings cycle.

Background

The Local Government and Housing Act 1989, requires the Council, at its annual meeting, or as "soon as practicable after the meeting" to review the representation of political groups and determine the allocation of seats (i.e. proportionality). The rights of the various political groups are specified in relevant regulations.

Previous Council meetings have approved the maintenance of the status quo in memberships pending the Councils review of its political structures. However, the Council meeting on 21 July approved the new political structures and there is a need to identify the number of seats on each committee and to populate these committees.

The structures below include the Tree Panel, which is to be constituted as a committee, which means that the political balance rules apply to this committee.

Committees and Seats

The new structures involve the setting up of the following Committees:

An improvement Board (6 political Seats)

An Audit Committee (6 Political Seats)

An Overview and Scrutiny Committee (14 Political Seats)

Tree Panel (3 political Seats)

The following regulatory Committees already exist:

Licensing Committee (14 Political Seats)

Planning (11 Political Seats plus 1 Independent)

The Council will have a total of 55 seats to which the proportionality rules apply. The allocations will be as follows: the Conservative group will have a total of 22 seats, the Liberal Democrat Group will have a total of 19 seats and the Labour Group will have a total of 13 seats.

The Area Committees, Outside Bodies and Partnerships are not considered in this report and will be brought to a later meeting.

Appointments for the Chairs and Deputy Chairs need to be confirmed by Council following which the committees will have delegated powers to appoint the next Chair and Deputy Chair, using the formula agreed in the constitutional amendments.

The Overview and Scrutiny Committee will have 2 deputy Chairs and there is a need for Council to appoint to this position.

THE NEW COMMITTEES

Improvement Board

Councillor Membership Total: 6

Political Make up:

2 (conservative)	2 (Liberal Democrat)	2 (Labour)	(Total 6)

Audit Committee

Councillor Membership Total: 6

Political Makeup:

2 ((conservative)	2 (Liberal Democrat)	2 (Labour)	(Total 6)	

Overview and Scrutiny

Councillor Membership Total: 14

Political Makeup:

Tree Panel

Councillor Membership Total: 3

Political Makeup:

1 (conservat	tive)	1 (Liberal Democrat)	1 (Labour)	(Total 3)	

Regulatory Committees

Licensing

Councillor Membership Total: 14

Political Makeup:

6 (conservative) 5 (Liberal Democrat)	3 (Labour)	(Total 14)
---------------------------------------	------------	------------

Planning

Councillor Membership Total: 12

Political Makeup: (NB I extra place available)

5	(conservative)	4 (Liberal Democrat)	2 (Labour)	(Total 12)
	(COLICCI VALIVO)	i (Liberal Berriediat)	<u> </u>	(I Olai I Z)

RECOMMENDATIONS:

- 1. Council approves the meeting cycles appended to this report.
- 2. Council approves the number of seats on each committee as outlined in this report.
- 3. Council approves the political make-up of each committee (non proportional Improvement Board and Audit Committee) but proportionality Council wide maintained as far as practicable.
- 4. Council reaffirms the Leader and Deputy Leader appointments for the Council and each group as follows:-

LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL – Phil Larratt (Leader); Tim Hadland (Deputy-Leader)

LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE MAIN OPPOSITION GROUP. That Councillor Woods and Councillor Glynane be Leader and Deputy Leader of the main Opposition Group.

LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LABOUR GROUP. That Councillor Barron and Councillor Marriott be Leader and Deputy Leader of the Labour Group.

- 5. Council approves a seven member Cabinet.
- 6 Council approves the membership of each Committee as outlined below
- 7. Council appoints the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Improvement Board, the Licensing and Planning Committee, and an additional Deputy Chair for Overview and Scrutiny committee
- a). CABINET.
 Councillor Larratt (Leader); Councillor Hadland (Deputy-Leader); Councillors Palethorpe; Miah, Flavell, J Lill and Caswell.
- b). IMPROVEMENT BOARD.(6)
 Councillors Larratt; Councillor Hadland, Councillor Palethorpe (substitute),
 Councillor Barron, Councillor Marriott, Councillor Evans (substitute), Councillor Woods and Councillor Markham.(Substitute to be determined)
- c). AUDIT COMMITTEE (6)
 Councillor Patterson (Chair); Councillor Perkins (Deputy-Chair); Councillors
 Hope, Lane, McCutcheon and Tavener.
- d) OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (14)
 Councillors Glynane (Chair); Councillor Roy (Deputy-Chair); Councillors Allen,
 Church, Eldred, Hill, M.Hoare, B Hoare, Lane, Malpas, Mason, Pritchard Simpson and Tavener. (Another deputy chair to be determined)
- e). PLANNING COMMITTEE (12)
 Councillors, Crake, Edwards, M Hill, B Hoare, M Hoare, Hollis, Malpas,
 Robinson and Yates.(Chair and Deputy Chair to be appointed from the group)
 (Labour group nominations to be confirmed)

f) LICENSING COMMITTEE (14) Councillors Acock, Duncan, Evans, Eldred, C Lill, B Markham, I Markham, Massey, Matthews, Roy, Stewart, Taylor, Wire and Woods (Chair and Deputy Chair to be appointed from the group)

g). TREE PANEL(3) Councillors C Lill and Matthews.(one labour to be nominated)

h) STANDARDS COMMITTEE.

Mrs M Roberts (Independent Chair); Mr J Romose (Independent Member); David Hughes (Parish Council Representative) Councillors Allen, Taylor, Duncan, Edwards (Labour Member to be confirmed)

i) LOCAL JOINT COMMITTEE. (To be confirmed)

7). CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS.

To reaffirm the appointment of the following Councillors with whom consultations shall be held by the named Officer under the terms set out and delegated by the Council.

Civic Matters

The Mayor, The Deputy Mayor, Councillors Barron, Church, Hadland and Larratt.

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel

Councillors Boss, Hadland, Hill, I Markham, Roy and Matthews.

Markets Matters

Councillors Hadland, B Markham, Marriott, Stewart, Taylor and Wire.