

Council 27 th June 2005	Item No.
Report of Borough Solicitor	Interim Political, Committee and Other Memberships and Related
Directorate: Governing Northampton Mario Abela	Matters
Author/Contact Officer:	
Francis Fernandes	

Purpose of Report

To invite Council, so far as is possible, to maintain the status quo with regard to existing political appointments, committee and other memberships until Council's next available meeting where the whole issue can be reconsidered and to consider what to do with current committee vacancies.

Background

Members will recall that Council considered a report on 16th May 2005 inviting members to maintain the status quo with regard to political appointments, committee and other memberships, pending the finalisation of the political structures review. The report was approved and existing political appointments and memberships (apart from a few exceptions) and current committees were reaffirmed until this Council meeting.

However, as the Political Structures Review has not as yet been completed there is a legal technical need for Council to agree to further maintain the status quo, so far as possible until the next available Council meeting where the Political Structures Review is considered and settled.

It is not possible to exactly hold the status quo because appointments made to the Executive at the last Council meeting have an impact on the memberships of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees. Section 21(9) of the Local Government Act 2000, prohibits members of the Executive from sitting on Overview and Scrutiny Committees. Therefore ClIrs Caswell and Lane's places on these committees have been identified as vacancies.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

Until the next available Council meeting where the Political Structures Review is settled Council:

(i) reaffirms existing political appointments and memberships (outlined below)

(ii) Reaffirms current committees (below)

(ii) Considers whether the vacancies identified below should be filled and if so by whom.

1. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL. That Councillor Larratt and Councillor Hadland be Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council respectively.

2. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE MAIN OPPOSITION GROUP. That Councillor Woods and Councillor Glynane be Leader and Deputy Leader of the main Opposition Group.

3. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LABOUR GROUP. That Councillor Barron and Councillor Marriott be Leader and Deputy Leader of the Labour Group.

4. COUNCIL MEETINGS. That the Annual Meeting of the Council be held on 25 May 2006 and that Ordinary Meetings of the Council be held on 27 June and 26 September 2005.

5. EXECUTIVE. That the Executive comprise Councillors Caswell, Hadland, Hill, Lane, Larratt, Lill (J), Palethorpe

6. MEETINGS. That the existing appointments to memberships of the following Committees and to the respective positions of Chair and Deputy Chair be reaffirmed as:

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (8)

Councillor Edwards (Chair), Councillor Crake (Deputy Chair), Councillor (Vacancy), Councillors Concannon, Duncan, Miah, Patterson and Simpson.

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEES (9)

SC.1 – Leader of the Council

Councillor Allen (Chair), Councillor Malpas (Deputy Chair), Councillors Acock, Boss, **(Vacancy)**, Church, Flavell, B Hoare and Roy.

SC.2 – Community Leadership

Councillor Glynane (Chair), Councillor Miah (Deputy Chair), Councillors Acock, Barron, Concannon, M Hoare, Lane, Malpas and Yates.

SC.3 – Community Safety and E Government Councillor Barron (Chair), **(Vacancy)** (Deputy Chair), Councillors Duncan, Edwards, M Hoare, Matthews, Pritchard, Stewart and Woods.

SC.4 – Financial Strategy and Performance Councillor Marriott (Chair), Councillor Perkins (Deputy Chair), Councillors **(Vacancy)**, Church, B Markham, Miah, Patterson, Robinson and Stewart.

SC.5 – Health and Environment Councillor B Markham (Chair), Councillor McCutcheon (Deputy Chair), Councillors Allen, Eldred, Flavell, Hollis, **(Vacancy)**, Malpas and Pritchard.

SC.6 - Housing

Councillor (Vacancy) (Chair), Councillor Mason (Deputy Chair), Councillors Acock, (Vacancy), Crake, Evans, Markham, Robinson and Yates.

SC.7 – Planning Regeneration and Transport Councillor Boss (Chair), Councillor Woods (Deputy Chair), Councillors (Vacancy), Duncan, Eldred, Glynane, Hollis, Simpson and Wire.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (11)

Councillor Robinson (Chair), Councillor Flavell (Deputy Chair), Councillors Crake, Edwards, B Hoare, Malpas, B Markham, Marriott, Mason, McCutcheon and Yates.

LICENSING COMMITTEE (12)

Councillor Stewart (Chair), Councillor Taylor (Deputy Chair), Councillors Acock, Councillor **(Vacancy)** Councillors Caswell, Concannon, Duncan, Evans, Markham, Miah, Wire and Woods.

LICENSING SUB COMMITTEE (3) Any three members of the Licensing Committee.

7. STANDARDS COMMITTEE.

Mrs M Roberts (Chair), Councillor Flavell (Deputy Chair), Mr D Hughes (Mrs M Edwards, Parish Council substitute), Mr J Romose, Councillors Allen, B Hoare, Lane and Pritchard.

8. LOCAL JOINT COMMITTEE.

Councillor Palethorpe (Chair), Councillors Barron, **(Vacancy),** Hollis, Larratt, Matthews, Roy and Tavener.

9. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS.

To reaffirm the appointment of the following Councillors with whom consultations shall be held by the named Officer under the terms set out and delegated by the Council.

Civic Matters

The Mayor, The Deputy Mayor, Councillors Barron, Church, Hadland and Larratt.

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel

Councillors (Vacancy), Boss, Hadland, Hill, I Markham and Roy.

Markets Matters Councillors Hadland, B Markham, Marriott, Stewart, Taylor and Wire.

10. COMMUNITY SAFETY PARTNERSHIP

To reaffirm the appointment of the following Councillors to represent the Council on the Northampton Borough Council Community Safety Partnership:-Councillors Allen, Barron, Lane and Tavener.

11. APPOINTMENTS ON OUTSIDE BODIES

To reaffirm the existing appointments to Outside Bodies.